Update on studio pieces

I have two studio pieces on the go right now, one at home, and one at school.

The one at home is my piece in ink. This is what I have so far:

It’s a bit difficult to see, but I messed up in the second photo. I wanted the blue orb (AKA, the soul), to be spotless and clean, but I accidentally got some black india ink on it! Oh well, it’s done now. I should have covered it up before I painted the black strokes. I’ll do that when I start paint the strokes around the face.

The key to this is having patience. If you don’t have patience, you’re going to mess up guaranteed. It’s calming, though, which is the point.

Question: although using ink is classified as a drawing medium, would I be able to say that for this? I want this to be classified as a drawing, but I don’t feel like it really is.

Next up is the one I’m doing in school:

I’m making this by mixing up media in a glue bottle (gloss medium, glue, paint and water), and then spraying it onto the canvas like that. It’s very easy and very quick, and gives just the kind of effect I was looking for.

The point of this is making a painting about everything that is stressing me out right now, trying to illustrate how I feel jumbled and overloaded, bursting at the seams with stuff to do. Any title suggestions?

I’m also planning on doing a clay bust, but I only practiced a bit. It’s a lot more difficult than it looks! But that’s what I said with digital art and I ended up loving that, so hopefully it will get better.

This is something I made while practicing. IMG_2134

Not the most attractive thing ever, but I think it would be easier to form the face with a bigger working area (this was about the size of my hand) and harder clay. The stuff I was working with was quite soft.

Anyway, that’s all!

Leave a comment